Questions/Answers

How can I get an episthesis?

Generally speaking, patients are referred to us on medical prescription by a doctor specialising in ENT and cervico-facial surgery, ophthalmology, plastic surgery or maxillofacial surgery.

You can make an appointment with the Centre for Facial Prostheses - Centre d'Epithèses Faciales (+33 (0)3 88 56 98 33) or contact us via our website.

Is an epithesis a lifelong rehabilitation?

An epithesis or prosthesis is an alternative to cosmetic reconstructive surgery. In other words, a prosthesis replaces surgery when surgery is not a viable solution, not wanted by the patient or if the patient has to wait for the surgical operation to be performed. 
The prosthesis covers the missing part or cavity, which is therefore protected. It can be taken off and put back on again easily and enables the doctor to monitor the area and make sure the healing process is proceeding smoothly.
A facial epithesis may therefore be made for temporary usage while waiting for surgery or it may be a lifelong solution.

How is a prosthesis attached?

Most of our prostheses are anchored to the bone. This means that implants are put in place by the surgeon in collaboration with the prosthetist so that the prosthesis is held securely in place, in most cases by magnets.

Sometimes an epithesis is attached directly onto the skin using a biological adhesive. This is sometimes a temporary solution while waiting for reconstruction surgery or for implants to be fitted.

Finally, in rare cases, an epithesis is fixed onto a glasses frame. This is usually a temporary solution when other means of attaching the prosthesis are not feasible for the time being.

what are implants?

Implants are used to anchor the epithesis to the bone. They are small titanium screws set into position in the bone by the surgeon. Abutments (passing through the skin) are screwed into these implants. Magnets keepers are then put into place, or else the implants are clipped onto a gold bar. The magnets or clips are located on the back of the prosthesis and hold it firmly in place.

How much does it cost?

Each prosthesis is unique and made to measure according to each case. The price of a prosthesis can vary considerably and is calculated taking into account several factors, such as your particular problem, the raw materials used, the number and type of magnets, silicones, resins etc., the complexity of the sculpture and how long it takes, the number of appointments necessary, the complexity of the design and production of the mould, adaptation, the techniques involved and the use of new technologies.

An estimate is drawn up after the first consultation or once be surgeon has fitted the implants, according to each case.

For the intervention to be covered by the national health service, prior approval has to be obtained.

Questions/Réponses

Comment obtenir une épithèse?

Généralement, les patients nous sont adressés sur prescription médicale faite par un médecin spécialiste en ORL et Chirurgie Cervico-Faciale, Ophtalmologue, Chirurgie Plastique ou Chirurgie Maxillo-Faciale.

Vous pouvez prendre rendez-vous au Centre d'Epithèses Faciales (+33 (0)3 88 56 98 33) ou nous contacter par notre site.

Est-ce qu'une épithèse est une réhabilitation définitive?

Une épithèse faciale pourra être réalisée de façon provisoire en attendant la chirurgie ou être une solution définitive.
Une épithèse est une alternative à la chirurgie de reconstruction esthétique, c'est à dire qu'une épithèse remplacera la chirurgie quand celle-ci n'est pas possible, pas souhaitée par le patient ou si la chirurgie est en attente.
L'épithèse recouvrira la partie manquante ou la cavité qui sera ainsi protégée. Elle pourra être enlevée et remise en place facilement, et permettra la surveillance du site et de veiller à la bonne cicatrisation.

Comment une épithèse tient-elle?

La majorité de nos épithèses sont fixées par ancrage osseux. C'est-à-dire que des implants mis en place par le chirurgien en collaboration avec l'épithésiste permettront le maintien de l'épithèse par des aimants dans la plupart des cas.

Parfois, une épithèse est collée directement sur la peau avec un adhésif biologique. C'est une solution parfois provisoire en attendant la chirurgie d'implants ou de reconstruction.

Enfin, dans de rares cas, une épithèse est fixée sur des montures. C'est souvent une solution provisoire quand les autres possibilités de rétention ne sont pour le moment pas possibles.

C'est quoi des implants?

Les implants sont utilisés pour l'ancrage osseux d'une épithèse. Ce sont de petites vis en titane mises en place par le chirurgien dans l'os. Sur ces implants ( encore appelés fixtures ), seront vissés des piliers transcutanés ( qui traversent l'épaisseur de la peau ). Ils recevront alors les contre-parties des aimants ou seront clippés à une barre en or par des cavaliers. Les aimants ou les cavaliers selon le cas, situés à l'arrière de l'épithèse, positionneront solidement l'épithèse en place.

Combien ça coûte?

Chaque épithèse est unique et est réalisée sur mesure en fonction de chaque cas. Le prix d'une épithèse est très variable et sera calculé en fonction de votre affection, des matières premières utilisées, ( nombre et type d'aimants, de silicones, de résines, etc... ), en fonction de la complexité et du temps de la sculpture, du nombre de rendez-vous, de la difficulté de la conception et de la réalisation du moule, de l'adaptation, des techniques utilisées, et de la prise en compte des nouvelles technologies.

Un devis sera réalisé après une première consultation ou, le cas échéant, après la mise en place des implants par le chirurgien. Une demande d'entente préalable auprès des organismes d'assurance maladie pourra être envisagée.