Orbital prosthesis

An orbital prosthesis or epithesis is indicated for the rehabilitation of a congenital malformation or following an illness (e.g. the ablation of a tumour) or in the wake of a trauma.

The aim is to restore the patient's look and expression and the fine delicacy of the surrounding skin. The epithesis must blend in with the contours of the face and finely reproduce the texture and colouring of the skin. The most appropriate and sure means of retention is selected in collaboration with the medical team according to technical feasibility and the patient's wishes. The means of retention available are:
- a bone-anchored orbital epithesis. Here, attachments are fitted into the edges of the orbital bone by the surgeon and magnets placed on the back of the epithesis to hold it in place. This technique means the epithesis is held securely in place, it is easy to put on and easy to clean. Furthermore, it allows the site to be monitored in the case of illness.
- an adhesive orbital epithesis. A biological adhesive is used to hold the epithesis directly against the skin. It is the simplest method of fitting an epithesis and is sometimes temporary while waiting for implants to be fitted.
- a self-retentive orbital epithesis. Here, the edges of the cavity will hold the epithesis, which fits snugly into all the surrounding hollows and stays in place without using any adhesive.
- frame-mounted epithesis. This solution is often chosen as a temporary option while waiting for implants to be fitted. In this case the epithesis is attached to glasses using magnets, or else adhesive is used to fix them onto glasses frames.
Making an orbital epithesis includes the ocular prosthesis (the glass or resin eye made-to-measure and painted by an ocularist), eyelids with eyelashes, sometimes eyebrows and the means of retention, such as magnets if the bone-anchoring method is used.

We would like to present some of our patients and their comments and we thank everyone who kindly accepted to appear on this website and have contributed their testimonies.

Les épithèses de l'orbite comprenant un oeil et des paupières (palpébro-orbitaires)

Une épithèse orbitaire est une indication pour la réhabilitation d'une malformation congénitale ou suite à une maladie (ablation d'une tumeur par exemple) ou après un traumatisme.

Il s'agit de restituer le regard et l'expression de la personne, ainsi que la délicatesse de la peau environnante. Elle devra se confondre dans les traits du visage, et reproduire finement la texture et les teintes de la peau. Le moyen de rétention approprié et sûr sera sélectionné en collaboration avec l'équipe médicale en fonction des possibilités techniques et des souhaits du patient. Les fixations possibles sont:
  • épithèse orbitaire à ancrage osseux: des fixtures sont placées dans le rebord orbitaire par le chirurgien et des aimants placés à l'arrière de l'épithèse la maintiendront en place. Cette technique assure un maintien sûr, la facilité de mise en place et la simplicité des soins d'hygiène. De plus, elle permettra la surveillance du site en cas de maladie.
  • épithèse orbitaire collée: un adhésif biologique sera utilisé afin de maintenir l'épithèse directement sur la peau. C'est le moyen le plus simple de mettre en place l'épithèse qui est parfois provisoire en attendant la mise en place d'implants.
  • épithèse auto-rétentive: les rebords de la cavité retiendront l'épithèse qui épousera tous les creux sous-jacents et permettra un maintien sans colle.
  • épithèse sur montures: c'est une solution qui est souvent retenue pour un maintien provisoire en attendant la mise en place des implants. L'épithèse sera alors fixée sur les lunettes par l'intermédiaire d'aimants ou sera collée sur les montures.

La création d'une épithèse orbitaire comprend
la prothèse oculaire (l'oeil de verre ou de résine peint et réalisé sur mesure par un oculariste), les paupières avec les cils, parfois les sourcils et le moyen de rétention, comme les aimants si l'ancrage est osseux.

Nous présentons différents patients et commentaires et nous remercions toutes les personnes qui ont aimablement accepté de figurer sur ce site et qui ont apporté leur témoignage