Nasal prosthesis

A nasal prosthesis, or epithesis, is indicated for rehabilitation following illness (e.g. ablation of a tumour) or in the wake of a trauma (accident or burn).

The aim is to restore the patient's respiratory functions, ensure the epithesis is held firmly in place, reproduce the fine delicacy of the surrounding skin and facilitate wearing glasses. The epithesis must blend in with the contours of the face and finely reproduce the texture and colouring of the skin. The most appropriate and sure means of retention is selected in collaboration with the medical team according to technical feasibility and the patient's wishes. The means of retention available are:
- a bone-anchored nasal prosthesis. Here, attachments are fitted into the edges of the maxillary bone and/or in the nose bone itself by the surgeon and magnets are placed on the back of the epithesis to hold it in place. This technique means the epithesis is held securely in place, it is easy to put on and easy to clean. Furthermore, it will allow the patient to breathe normally and the site to be monitored in the case of illness.
- an adhesive nasal prosthesis. A biological adhesive is used to hold the prosthesis directly against the skin. It is the simplest method of fitting an epithesis and is sometimes temporary while waiting for reconstructive surgery or implants to be fitted.
- a self-retentive nasal prosthesis. Here, the edges of the cavity hold the epithesis, which fits snugly into all the surrounding hollows and stays in place without using any adhesive.
- frame-mounted nasal prosthesis. This is a rarer solution which is sometimes chosen as a temporary option while waiting for implants to be fitted. In this case, the epithesis is attached to glasses using magnets, or else adhesive is used to fix it onto the glasses frame.

We would like to present some of our patients and their comments and we thank everyone who kindly accepted to appear on this website and have contributed their testimonies.

Les épithèses de nez (nasales)

Une épithèse nasale est une indication pour la réhabilitation suite à une maladie (ablation d'une tumeur par exemple) ou après un traumatisme (accident ou brûlure ).

Il s'agit de restituer la fonction de respiration de la personne, d'assurer un maintien sûr, de permettre le port de lunettes et de reproduire la délicatesse de la peau environnante. Elle devra s'harmoniser et se confondre dans les traits du visage, et reproduire finement la texture et les teintes de la peau. Le moyen de rétention approprié et sûr sera sélectionné en collaboration avec l'équipe médicale en fonction des possibilités techniques et des souhaits du patient. Les fixations possibles sont:
  • épithèse nasale à ancrage osseux: des fixtures sont placées dans le rebord maxillaire et/ou dans l'os propre du nez par le chirurgien et des aimants placés à l'arrière de l'épithèse la maintiendront en place. Cette technique assure un maintian sûr, la facilité de mise en place et la simplicité des soins d'hygiène. De plus, elle permettra au patient de respirer normalement et aussi la surveillance du site en cas de maladie.
  • épithèse nasale collée: un adhésif biologique sera utilisé afin de maintenir l'épithèse directement sur la peau. C'est le moyen le plus simple de mettre en place l'épithèse qui est parfois provisoire en attendant la chirurgie de reconstruction ou la mise en place d'implants.
  • épithèse nasale auto-rétentive: les rebords de la cavité retiendront l'épithèse qui épousera tous les creux sous-jacents et permettra un maintien sans colle.
  • épithèse nasale sur montures: c'est une solution plus rare qui est parfois retenue pour un maintien provisoire en attendant la mise en place des implants. L'épithèse sera alors fixée sur les lunettes par l'intermédiaire d'aimants ou sera collée sur les montures.

Nous présentons différents patients et commentaires et nous remercions toutes les personnes qui ont aimablement accepté de figurer sur ce site et qui ont apporté leur témoignage