Hemifacial prosthesis or midfacial prosthesis

Extended epitheses, whether they are hemifacial (left or right side of the face) or midfacial (extended nasal region) are indicated for rehabilitation following an illness (e.g. ablation of a tumour) or following a trauma (accident or burn). A facial prosthesis may in this case be the only rehabilitation option after extensive facial disfigurement. Furthermore, it allows for the site to be monitored in the case of illness.

The aim is to restore and reproduce the section of the face concerned using an epitheses, ensure it is held firmly in place, reproduce the fine delicacy of the surrounding skin and sometimes facilitate wearing glasses. The epitheses must blend in with the contours of the face and finely reproduce the texture and colouring of the skin. The most appropriate and sure means of retention is selected in collaboration with the medical team according to technical feasibility and the patient's wishes. The means of retention available are:
- a bone-anchored prosthesis. Here, attachments are fitted into the bone by the surgeon and magnets placed on the back of the epithesis to hold it in place. This technique means the epithesis is held securely in place, it is easy to put on and easy to clean.
- an adhesive prosthesis. A biological adhesive is used to hold the prosthesis directly against the skin. It is the simplest method of fitting an epithesis and is sometimes temporary while waiting for reconstructive surgery or implants to be fitted.
- self-retentive prosthesis or using a combination of retention methods. Here, the edges of the cavity hold the epithesis which fits snugly into all the surrounding hollows and may sometimes be helped to stay in place using another means of retention.
- frame-mounted prosthesis. This solution is sometimes chosen for extended epitheses when fitting implants is not a feasible option. In this case, the epithesis is attached to glasses using magnets, or else adhesive is used to fix them onto the glasses frame.

Epithèse faciale plus large (hémifaciale ou mediofaciale)

Les épithèses élargies, qu'elles soient hémifaciales ( côté droit ou gauche de la face ) ou médio-faciales ( nasale élargie ) sont une indication pour la réhabilitation suite à une maladie (ablation d'une tumeur par exemple) ou après un traumatisme (accident ou brûlure ). Une épithèse faciale est dans ce cas parfois la seule réhabilitation possible après un large délabrement facial. De plus, elle permettra la surveillance du site en cas de maladie.

Il s'agit de restaurer et reproduire la partie du visage concernée par une épithèse, d'assurer un maintien sûr, de permettre éventuellement le port de lunettes et de reproduire la délicatesse de la peau environnante. Elle devra s'harmoniser et se confondre dans les traits du visage, et reproduire finement la texture et les teintes de la peau. Le moyen de rétention approprié et sûr sera sélectionné en collaboration avec l'équipe médicale en fonction des possibilités techniques et des souhaits du patient. Les fixations possibles sont:
  • épithèse à ancrage osseux: des fixtures sont placées dans les rebord osseux par le chirurgien et des aimants placés à l'arrière de l'épithèse la maintiendront en place. Cette technique assure un maintian sûr, la facilité de mise en place et la simplicité des soins d'hygiène.
  • épithèse collée: un adhésif biologique sera utilisé afin de maintenir l'épithèse directement sur la peau. C'est le moyen le plus simple de mettre en place l'épithèse qui est parfois provisoire en attendant la chirurgie de reconstruction ou la mise en place d'implants.
  • épithèse auto-rétentive ou de fixation mixte: les rebords de la cavité retiendront l'épithèse qui épousera tous les creux sous-jacents et le maintien sera parfois complété par un autre moyen de fixation.
  • épithèse sur montures: c'est une solution qui est parfois retenue dans les épithèses élargies, quand la mise en place d'implants n'est pas possible. L'épithèse sera alors fixée sur les lunettes par l'intermédiaire d'aimants ou sera collée sur les montures.