Auricular epithesis

An auricular prosthesis, or epithesis, is indicated for the rehabilitation of a congenital malformation, following an illness (e.g. the ablation of a tumour) or after a trauma (accident, burn).
This alternative to cosmetic reconstructive surgery is especially indicated for burns and illnesses and gives excellent cosmetic results by restoring symmetry. The pinna often helps patients locate sound better.

An auricular prosthesis is made to measure and identical to the ear on the other side. It is flexible and resistant, fits perfectly onto the skin and blends in with the contours of the face, reproducing its texture and colouring to the finest degree.
Most of our auricular epitheses are anchored into the bone. This means that implants are fixed into the mastoid bone by the surgeon and clips or magnets are placed on the back of the epithesis to hold it in place. This technique means the prosthesis is easily put on, held securely in place and easy to clean.
Sometimes, an auricular prosthesis is attached using a biological adhesive which holds the epithesis directly against the skin. This is an easy way of fitting the epithesis which is sometimes temporary while awaiting reconstructive surgery or for implants to be fitted. 

We would like to present some of our patients and their comments and we thank everyone who kindly accepted to appear on this website and have contributed their testimonies.

Les épithèses d'oreilles (auriculaires)

Une épithèse auriculaire est une indication pour la réhabilitation d'une malformation congénitale, suite à une maladie (ablation d'une tumeur par exemple) ou après un traumatisme (accident ou brûlure).
Cette alternative à la chirurgie de reconstruction esthétique est particulièrement indiquée pour les brûlures et les maladies, et donne d'excellents résultats esthétiques en restaurant la symétrie. Grâce au pavillon, elle permettra souvent de mieux orienter le son.

L'oreille sera réalisée sur mesure et identique à l'autre côté
. Elle sera souple et résistante, s'appliquera parfaitement à la peau et devra se confondre dans les traits du visage, et reproduire finement sa texture et ses teintes.
La plupart de nos épithèses auriculaires sont à ancrage osseux: des implants sont placées dans l'os mastoïde par le chirurgien et des cavaliers ou des aimants placés à l'arrière de l'épithèse la maintiendront en place. Cette technique assurera un maintian sûr, la facilité de mise en place et la simplicité des soins d'hygiène.
Parfois une épithèse auriculaire est collée: un adhésif biologique sera utilisé afin de maintenir l'épithèse directement sur la peau. C'est un moyen simple de mise en place de l'épithèse qui est parfois provisoire en attendant la chirurgie de reconstruction ou la mise en place d'implants.

Nous présentons différents patients et commentaires et nous remercions toutes les personnes qui ont aimablement accepté de figurer sur ce site et qui ont apporté leur témoignage